There is a Light.

A poem written for someone pretty darn special.

The smell of salty sea air attacks my nose.  I feel the burn.
The boat rocks and sways with the ocean.

I am alone on this vessel with my burden to bear.
A fog rolls over and I think of nothing.

I light the lamp as to see.
Nothing there but I need to see.

See the nothing.

Between the wafts of fog I see another light.
It  comes closer.  Closer still.

The boat passes by slowly.  I see you there.
Another on a journey that they are alone.

Do I ask you to join me?  No.
This is meant to be a journey of loneliness.

You pass by.  The smell of the salty sea air.
You’re gone now.  But I still see your light

There is a light.
And it never goes out.

0 Responses to “There is a Light.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Jay’s Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


